Monday, December 22, 2008

Clay & Context

Indiana State University Art Gallery

CLAY & CONTEXT: National Juried Exhibition
January 15 – February 6, 2008

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. --- The Indiana State University Art Gallery welcomes Clay & Context, National Juried Exhibition, Jan 15- Feb 6, 2009. A public reception with Juror Sherman Hall, Editor of Ceramics Monthly Magazine, will be held on Friday, Jan 16, 5-7pm. Sherman Hall will give a public lecture followed by an awards ceremony that same evening in the Music Recital Hall, (CPFA) at 5:30pm.

Clay & Context was conceived to draw new attention to clay as a material with fresh significance in contemporary art, while acknowledging the history from which it evolved. The exhibition explores both the functional and non-functional aspects of current ceramic art. The exhibited works not only reflect the personal vocabulary of each of the artists, but the cultural climate in which they were produced.

About the Juror: As editor of the worlds leading ceramic art magazine, Sherman Hall is a staunch advocate for ceramics as a promoter and practitioner. Hall received his BFA in Ceramics from Ohio State University in 1996 after studies at New York University and Columbus College of Art & Design. Following his undergraduate education, Hall was the sole proprietor of the Sherman Hall Studio from 1996-2003. He has worked with Ceramics Monthly since 1999.

Artists Featured: Chris Archer, Lesley Baker, Daniel L. Bare, Dylan J. Beck, Nathan Betschart, Kyan Bishop, Kristina Bogdanov, Klai Brown, Stephanie Craig, Danny Crump, Kit Davenport, Derek Decker, Christine Golden, Mark Gordon, Vicky Hansen, Phil Haralam, Margaret Haydon, Steve Hilton, Kevin Hughes, Michael Jamison, Andréa Keys, Phyllis Kloda, Michael Lancaster, Carrie Longley, Jon McMillan, Cory Medina, Marcy Neiditz, Richard Nickel, Lindsay Oesterritter, Vince Palacios, Margaret Park Smith, Kyle & Kelly Phelps, Joseph Pintz, Derek Reeverts, Scott Ross, Jan Schachter, Sam Scott, Jinsoo Song, Hunter Stamps, Haruka Takemoto, Lydia C. Thompson, Michelle Tobia, Dan Van Tassell, James Wayne, Sigrid Zahner, Valerie Zimany

No comments: